Volunteering in North Devon


James Blake has just started as a volunteer ranger at Woolacombe and writes about his volunteer journey:IMG_2182

“My name is James Blake and I have been a volunteer for ten years. A neighbour encouraged me to do it as she said it would be good for me to get out and about. When I started with the National Trust, I was at Arlington Court and I helped to look after the horses that were there then – mucking them out and brushing them. A few months ago, I started at Woolacombe where we do all sorts of things like walling and strimming and mending steps. I like litter-picking and walling the most, and hammering in the wooden pegs for the steps. Some of it is hard work but I do like being out and meeting people and working with the staff and the other volunteers.”

One response to “Volunteering in North Devon

Leave a Reply

