If there were a place


If there were a place – By Josey Field

Josey If there were a place prose

If there were a place where the web had not connected
And the ancient, gnarled oak canopy, predominant, allowed shafts of light to dazzle through
I would give my time to care for that

If there were a place where both the most minuscule and grand of creatures still found a home
And beasts of fairy tales long forgotten still roamed
I would give my time to care for that

If there were a place where the power of the tides reigned
And change was inevitable, accepted, and integrated
I would give my time to care for that

If there were a place where shared connections were the investment of the day
And consideration for locality was prized like gold
I would give my time to care for that

But, this is no mythical place; it is the outcast fringes of our modern world
The environment and ecology that supports our being; silent, slowly, sadly diminishing
And so I do, give my time to change that

 
As a parting thought I wanted to provide some context for my prose. My name is Josey, and I am a Volunteer Ranger with the National Trust in the Heddon Valley, North Devon. For the last three years I have been researching and writing a PhD that was concerned with how people relate to the natural environment, and their subsequent environmental practices. During this time I explored how we, in the modern westernised world, often separate ourselves from nature. Yet it is magical; integral to our very being, we would not survive without it. Sadly, we do not always recognise this, and the non-human is slowly being pushed to the fringes of society. So when my PhD ended, I channelled my career path toward practically applying the lessons I had learned through my research. And that is why I give my time for free: to gain the land management and conservation skills necessary to help look after our beautiful land and the creatures who inhabit it. Hopefully, in doing so I will inspire others to connect with the astounding diversity of the world, so they too will love it, enjoy it, care for it, and feel empowered to integrate it more fully into their lives.

One response to “If there were a place

  1. cecil shepperd

    Beautuiful, there are such places hidden places a few of us find. We are responsible for bringing in the modern world. Oh that we could live with out it. Some do, make it you,

Leave a Reply

