An Unplanned Walk Due to Circumstances Beyond our Control


I went in to work today expecting to spend the morning with my companions spreadsheet, .pdf and word doc. It was not to be, I turned on the computer and tried to log in only to get an error message. I phoned our IT help desk and listened to a pre-recorded message. ‘We are aware that some people may be experiencing issues, we are working on a solution etc etc’.  Major disaster! What should I do? Well I decided that it would be a shame not to take full advantage of the situation and get out and walk a footpath, namely the South West Coast Path from Holdstone Down along some of the highest and most exposed sea cliffs in England to the Heddon Valley. It took a couple of hours and by the time I got back to the office all systems were working again.  Here are some pictures I took along the way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 responses to “An Unplanned Walk Due to Circumstances Beyond our Control

  1. Unlucky! I’m sure you’d much rather have stayed in the office! Walked that same piece of coastline last year, it’s stunning, isn’t it.

  2. Excellent article, Julian! Earlier today Faye (Moorland Heritage Officer) judged photos for a competition, with the theme ‘Colours of Exmoor’ – some of these images would have been great contenders!

  3. Ah ha, do I see Dacrymyces palmatus (Orange Jelly) on the side of that tree? As unlikely as it seems, I’m told it’s edible. Never had the nerve to test that theory. Lustleigh 023 – (a photo of mine on Flickr)

Leave a Reply

