Join the Team, Become a Ranger


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Due to one of our current full time volunteers securing an excellent job as a ranger with the Pembrokeshire National Park Authority we are looking for someone to join our team here at West Exmoor. In return for a commitment of 6 months or longer the successful applicant will be offered training in a variety of rural skills and the opportunity to work towards a diploma in environmental conservation. Accommodation is provided at the Exmoor Bunkhouse Annex in the hamlet of Countisbury for the duration of your time with us.  You will have your own room and share a bathroom and kitchen with another volunteer. 

Many rangers and wardens, myself included, gained the essential practical experience most employers ask for through a commitment to volunteering. My own experience was both rewarding and very enjoyable. I improved both my chain-saw skills and the knowledge of woodland management I  already had from working in commercial forestry. I learnt to build a fence, mend a stone wall, lead a guided walk, identify wild flowers and many other skills. I gained the expertise I needed to apply for and gain my first post as a Warden. I then built on these skills and eventually gained the post I now hold as Head Ranger for the West Exmoor properties. This all took time of course and I won’t pretend that I didn’t struggle with my finances, but l look back on those days with a real sense of achievement and pride. 

So, if you want to work towards a career as a ranger or warden this is a good way to get started. Give it a go, you never know where it will lead! 

Write to me julian.gurney@nationaltrust.org.uk for a role profile and application form and take a look at our web sites to get an idea of where you could be working. 

www.nationaltrust.org.uk/watersmeet/   

www.nationaltrust.org.uk/heddon-valley/  

www.nationaltrust.org.uk/exmoorbunkhouse/

 

One response to “Join the Team, Become a Ranger

  1. Reblogged this on Moorland, the Heart of Exmoor and commented:
    Countryside ranger job on Exmoor…

Leave a Reply

